top of page
搜尋
yianl8

What I have learned so far(until the end week 2)?

已更新:2021年1月19日

-Practice metacognitive reading of a variety of texts, both public discourse and academic discourse


Time files, I still feel like yesterday was the winter vacation. But the new quarter already started two weeks. Through these two weeks' study, we started to look deeper into the concept of gender role and writing strategies.


Over these two weeks, the most impressive and educative thing that I have learn is Jean Kilbourne's lecture Killing Us Softly 4. Jean Kilbourne provides a very special insight on the influence of advertisement and its tendency of leading to violence against women. Before watching this video, I have heard that the objectivation of women is a problem of our society. But I don't have a general understanding of this issue and cannot relate it to real things in our society. In the video, Jean Kilbourne utilizes many detailed examples to illustrate her idea. This video gives me some enlightenment and enables me to think deeper in the field of women right. If I have a chance, I would recommend this video to my friends.


Besides the video, I also completed Integrate sources into your writing and Close reading practice. From Integrate sources into your writing, I learned how to make citation from other sources correctly. By taking Close reading practice, I was able to practice the reading skills I learned in week 1and previous reading course. Through the practice, I think I already have a basic understanding of these skills, but I still need to do more practice. In next three years of college life, it is for sure that I will read many different types of texts. Therefore I believe that it is very helpful to form good reading skills from this course. Here is the excerpt of my analysis on reading practice:


" I visit the reading strategies in this order because I go through the circle by clockwise direction. Of all these strategies, Define Public Pedagogy, Identify Excerpts about Beauty and Identify Excerpts about Gender Roles helped me most because they helped me to discover the main idea of the text. I will use Predict the Main Idea and Make Connections next time because they helped me better understand and comprehend the text."




21 次查看2 則留言

2 Comments


Yi Jiang
Yi Jiang
Feb 01, 2021

Hi Yian,

I agree with you that the grammar we are doing are very useful, these are the basic skills we need to adopt in order for us to be good writers, we need to have great thought on our writing but we also need good grammar and writing skills.

Like

Cuiwen Zhou
Cuiwen Zhou
Jan 30, 2021

Hi, Yian! I also found the video Killing Us Softly 4 is a very helpful practice. I didn't realize that advertisements could have such an impactful influence on gender values. After watching the video, it definitely provided me with some new insights about this topic.

Like
bottom of page